IMPORTANT INFORMATION

PERTAINING

TO YOUR

VIRGINIA

LICENSE

November 2011

IMPORTANT INFORMATION CONCERNING YOUR LICENSE

A. You may solicit applications for any company authorized in Virginia for classes of insurance covered by your license. However, an insurance company must appoint you within 30 calendar days of the date of execution of the first application submitted by you to the company. The company must notify you if the Commission notifies the company that the attempt to appoint you was invalid. The company's notice must be provided within five business days of receipt of the invalid appointment notice from the Commission. Any agent who sells or solicits insurance on behalf of the insurer after being notified of an invalid appointment shall be in violation of Virginia law. The Bureau of Insurance does NOT provide notice to a producer regarding a valid appointment bv insurer. Appointments mav be verified an at http://scc.virginia.gov/boi/ConsumerInguiry/ProducerSearch.aspx.

B. Your <u>contract</u> with the insurance company is NOT an appointment. An appointment is a formal notification from the insurer to the Bureau, for which the company pays a \$12 fee. Simply having an <u>employment contract</u> or <u>agent contract</u> with an insurance company does not satisfy this requirement, and would place both the insurer and the producer in violation of Virginia law.

C. Appointments must be renewed annually by June 30. This is done by the insurance company. If the company fails to renew the appointment, or terminates the appointment at any time, the company must notify you in writing within **five** calendar days. Once you receive such notice, you must immediately cease soliciting applications on behalf of that insurer. The Bureau will **NOT** notify you of appointment cancellations.

D. Your license will remain in an "active" status unless surrendered, terminated, suspended, or revoked, as long as your license in your state or province of domicile (residence) remains in an "active" status, and, if applicable, comply with the continuing education requirements. Termination, revocation, suspension, or cancellation of your license in your state or province of domicile (residence) automatically terminates your Virginia license and appointments.

CONTINUING EDUCATION

Virginia has a biennial Continuing Education (CE) requirement for <u>all</u> agents holding one or more of the following license types:

Life and Annuities Health Life and Health Consultant Personal Lines Property and Casualty Property and Casualty Consultant Title The CE program in Virginia is NOT administered by the Bureau. A separate entity, known as the Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Board, is responsible for development and administration of the CE program. The Board, in turn, has contracted with Pearson VUE for operation of the program.

For further information on Virginia's CE program, including reciprocity information, or to obtain a copy of <u>Virginia's Continuing Education Information</u> <u>Handbook</u>, visit the CE Board's website at <u>www.virginiainsurancece.com</u> or call 1-877-234-6092. Questions regarding the Virginia CE program should be directed to Pearson VUE at <u>virginiainsurancece@pearson.com</u>; **NOT** to the Bureau of Insurance.

Nonresident agents are not required to complete Virginia CE courses; however, they are required to pay a \$15 continuance fee, which may be paid online at <u>www.virginiainsurancece.com</u>.

MISCELLANEOUS

A. Change of Address

Every licensed producer is required by law to notify the Bureau within 30 calendar days of any change of residence. You should change your address online at <u>http://scc.virginia.gov/boi/online.aspx</u>. DO NOT USE A COMPANY OR ANY BUSINESS ADDRESS (INCLUDING PO BOX) AS THE INDIVIDUAL PRODUCER'S RESIDENCE OR MAILING ADDRESS.

Any licensed agent who has moved his/her residence from this Commonwealth shall have all licenses terminated by the Commission.

B. Change of Name

Every licensed producer is required by law to notify the Bureau in writing within 30 calendar days of any change of name. These changes can be made by downloading and properly completing the Bureau's Service Request Form (5001) at <u>http://scc.virginia.gov/boi/pro/formapp.aspx</u>. A copy of the marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court order is required. Please include your Virginia License Number or your National Producer Number (NPN) with your request. You must sign the request. The Bureau will send you a duplicate license when we have processed your name change.

C. Certification Letters

Based upon the national initiative for uniformity of state insurance regulation, most states do not require certification letters as a producer's license status may be verified on the NAIC's Producer Data Base (PDB), or on the Bureau's website at <u>http://scc.virginia.gov/boi/ConsumerInquiry/ProducerSearch.aspx</u>. Nevertheless, a certification letter may be obtained online at <u>www.sircon.com/virginia</u> and printed from this site.

D. Duplicate Licenses

A license may be printed online at <u>www.sircon.com/virginia</u>.

E. Assumed or Fictitious Names

Any person or entity (corporation, partnership, or limited liability company) conducting the business of insurance in this Commonwealth under an assumed or fictitious name is required to notify the Bureau, in writing, either at the time the application for a license is filed or at the time the assumed or fictitious name is adopted. (Business entities must register the fictitious name in the State Corporation Commission's Office of the Clerk prior to filing it with the Bureau. You may contact the Clerk's Office at 804-371-9733. You may complete the Virginia Service Request form or you may send a letter. You may access the Virginia Service Request form (5001) from our website at <u>http://scc.virginia.gov/boi/pro/formapp.aspx</u>.

F. Felony Convictions

A producer (resident or nonresident) is required by law to report to the Bureau of Insurance within 30 calendar days the facts and circumstances regarding a conviction of or pleading guilty or nolo contendere to any felony offense.

G. Administrative Actions

An agent (resident or nonresident) is required by law to report to the Bureau of Insurance within 30 calendar days the final disposition, to include a copy of the order, consent to order, and/or other relevant legal documents, of any administrative action taken against him in another jurisdiction or by another governmental agency. Report administrative actions to the Bureau electronically via NIPR's Attachment Warehouse – Reporting of Actions at <u>https://pdb.nipr.com/docMgmt/main.html</u>.

The Bureau's website includes information that an agent should be familiar with. We would suggest that you review the following:

- Common Problems Found During Agent Investigations <u>http://scc.virginia.gov/boi/pro/enf.aspx</u>
- Administrative Letters that should be reviewed by every agent <u>http://scc.virginia.gov/boi/adminlets/allagents.aspx</u>

The above information is not intended to be all-inclusive. If you have any questions or problems not addressed here, please contact the Bureau at <u>bureauofinsurance@scc.virginia.gov</u> or visit our website shown below.

Bureau of Insurance
Agents Licensing Section
P. O. Box 1157
Richmond, Virginia 23218
(804)371-9631
bureauofinsurance@scc.virginia.gov
http://scc.virginia.gov/boi