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ADMINISTRATIVE LETTER 1992-8

TO: All Companies Required to Register with the Commission as
Members of an Insurance Holding Company System

RE: Required Filings of Insurers that are Members of an
Insurance Holding Company System

Subsection E of § 38.2-1329 of the Code of Virginia states
that each insurer shall report to the Commission all dividends
and other distributions to shareholders within two business days

following their declaration.

The Commission's rules concerning

"Insurance Holding Companies" (Regulation No. 14), at Section 7,
require that this report include the following:

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

the date declared, date of record and date of
payment of the dividend;

a statement as to whether the dividend is to be in
cash or other property, and, if in property, a
description thereof, its cost, and the fair market
value of such property together with an
explanation of the basis of valuation;

the amounts and dates of all dividends paid within
the period of 12 consecutive months ending on the
date fixed for payment of the reported dividend
and commencing on the day after the same day of
the month in the last preceding year; and

a brief statement as to the effect of the reported
dividend upon the insurer's surplus as regards
policyholders and the reasonableness of surplus as
regards policyholders in relation to the insurer's
outstanding liabilities and the adeguacy of
surplus as regards policyholders relative to the
insurer's needs.



Administrative Le =2r 1992-8
March 6, 1992 - -
Page 2

Each registered insurer shall also keep current the
information required in a Form B registration statement by filing
an amendment to its registration statement within 120 days after
the end of each fiscal year of the ultimate controlling person of
the insurance holding company systemn.

An amendment to Form B must be filed within 15 days after
the end of any month in which an insurer learns of the following:

(1) there 1s a change in the control of the
registrant, 'in which case the entire Form B shall
be made current;

(ii) there is a material change in the information
given in Item 5 of Form B;

(iii) there is a material change in any portion of the
information given in Item 6 of Form B which
relates to previously reported material
transactions with affiliates;

(iv) there are additional material transactions with
affiliates involving information of the type
required to be reported in Item 6 of Form B.

The Bureau has become aware that some insurers may not be
making all the filings as required by § 38.2-1329 and Insurance
Regulation 14. Reports of past dividend or other distributions to
shareholders which have not been filed with the Commission and
any other filings which may be delingquent should be submitted
immediately. The failure to make timely filings may result in
the imposition of monetary penalties. Additional regulatory
action may be taken by the Commission if a company remains out of
compliance with provisions of the Code of Virginia.

Any questions regarding the contents of this letter should
be directed in writing to:

Mr. Edward J. Buyalos, Jr., CFE, CPA, FIMI
Supervisor, Financial Analysis Section
Bureau of Insurance

P. O0. Box 1157

Richmond, VA 23209

éé%éi;;;;j,
en T.;zizzggl/:%\_‘#—’ffﬂd

Commissioner of Insurance
STF:fah



