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0 ALL FIRE AND CASUALTY INSURANCE COMPANTES LICENSED

TO TRANSACT BUSINESS IN VIRGINIA

SUBJBECT: 1579 LBGISLATION PERTAINING 1O FIRE INSURANCE, HCOMEOWNERS
INSURANCE AND MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE

Attention is called to the following statutes enacted or amernded
ard reenacted by the General Assembly of Virginia during its 1979 Session.
These statutes bhecome effective JULY 1, 1979.

I - TITLE 38.]1 - INSURANCE

The following amendments to Title 38.1 are applicable to all new ard
renewal policies that becamne effective on and after July 1, 1979. Cories
of the sections or subsections affected are attached.

(FIRE AND HOMEOWNERS INSURANCE)

Section 38.1-366. Stardard provisions, comditions, stipulations and
acreaments for such policies. The 165-1line standaxd provisions
portion is amended with regard to "Requiranents in case loss ocgurs”
and "Appraisal”. Charge in policy form is required.

(MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE)

Section 38.1-381(b). (Uninsured Molorists Coverage). The minimum
5,000 property damage is changed to $10,000 (inadvertently rot
changed in 1878); ard the permitted exclusion of the first $200
of such loss or damage applies only in the case of loss or damage
in any one accident inwolving an unidentifiable owner or operator
of an uninsured motor vehicle. Change in policy form is required
ard 2 standard policy form(s) will be approved for use by all
carpanies. T

Section 38.1-381.7. Statement defining rate classifications o be
provided by insurer to insured. This Section is amerded to reguire
that such statements be provided those insured under the Virginia

Autamobile Insurance Plan at the time of issuwance or renewal. The
form of the required statament is subject to prior approval of the
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Camissioner of Insurance, and AIPSO has filed a form for use by
all canpanies.
Attention is also called to the following statites which are of

direct concern to fire ard casualty insurance companies. Copies of
these statutes, also effective JULY 1, 1979, are attached.

IT - TITLE 8.0 - CIVIL REMEDIES AND PROCEDURE

Section 8.01-66. Recovery of damages for loss of use of vehicle.
Allowance for substitute vehicie required due to loss or destruction
of a motor vehicle for which a person is entitled o recovery is
changed from “reimbursement per dien" to reasonable cost "which

was actually incurred in" hiring a comparable substitute vehicle.

Sectioh 8.01-66.1. Action against insurer for arbitrary refusal
of small claim., The maximin amount which may be subject to double
payment plus reasorable attorney's fees ard expense is increased
fram $150 to $300. '

IIT ~ TITLE 27 -~ FIRE PROTECTION

Sections 27-85.3 through 27-85.6. Arson Reporting-Immunity Act,
This pertains to the exchange of pertinent information between
insurance campanies {including the Virginia Property Insurance
Association) ard municipal or county "authorized agencies", as
defined, ard includes an immunity provision. o

IV - TITIE 46.1 - MOTOR VEHICLES

Section 46.1-400. Driver to make written report of certain accidents
and certification of financial responsibility, if any, to Division;
Supplementary reports; reports by witnesses. The minimm property
damage requiring a report of accident to the Pivision of Motor
Vehicles is increased fram $250 to $350. :

This Administrative Letter and the attached legislation should be
directed to the proper person(s) in your campany to insure that appropriate
action is accomplished. '

Should you have any questions concerning this new legislation,
please write to Mr. Garlard I. Hazelwood, Jr., Assistant Comissioner for

Property and Casualty Insurance.
incerely,

James W. Newman, Jr.
Camissioner of Insuranc

JWN:gg
attachments



1979 LAWS EXCERPTS

Section 38.1-366

§ 38.1-366. Standard provisions, conditions, stipulations and agreements for such policies.
-Every such policy shall contain the following provisions, conditions, stipulations and
agreements, which shall be a standard form for use in all policies of fire insurance issued

on preperty in the State of Virginia:

1 Concealment, This entire policy shall be void if, whether
2 Fraud. before or after a loss, the insured has wil-
3 .fully concealed or misrepresented any ma-
4 terial fact or circumstance concerning this insurance or the -

5 subject thereof, or the interest of the insured therein, or in case
6 of any fraud or false swearing by the insured relating thereto.

7 Uninsurable This policy shall not cover accounts, bills,

8 and currency, deeds, evidences of debt, money or
9 excepted property. securities; nor, unless specifically named

10 hereon in writing, bullion or manuscripts.

i1 Perils not This Company shall not be liable for loss by
12 included. fire or other perils insured against in this
13 policy caused, directly or indirectly, by: (a)

14 enemy attack by armed forces, including action taken by mili-
15 tary, naval or air forces in resisting an actual or an immediately
16 impending enemy attack; (b) invasion; (c) insurrection; (d)

17 rebellion; (e) revolution; (f) civil war; (g) usurped power; (h)

18 order of any civil authority except acts of destruction at the time
"19 of and for the pur"pose of preventing the spread of fire, provided
20 that such fire did not originate from any of the perils excluded
21 by this policy; (i) neglect of the insured to use all reasonable

22 means to save and preserve the property at and after a loss, or
23 when the property is endangered by fire in neighboring prem-
24 ises; (j) nor shall this Company be liable for loss by theft.

25 Other Insurance. Other insurance may be prohibited or the

26 amount of insurance may be limited by en-
27 dorsement attached hereto.

28 Conditions suspending or restricting insurance. Unless other-

29 wise provided in writing added hereto this Company shall not

30 be liable for loss occurring '

31 (a) while the hazard is increased by any means within the con-
32 trol or knowledge of the insured; or

33 (b) while a described building, whether intended for occupancy
34 by owner or tenant, is vacant or unoccupied beyond a period of
35 sixty consecutive days; or

36 (¢) as a result of explosion or riot, unless fire ensue, and in

37 that event for loss by fire only.

38 Other perils Any other peril to be insured against or sub-
39 or subjects. ject of insurance to be covered in this policy
40 shall be by endorsement in writing hereon or

4] added hereto.

42 Added provisions. The extent of the application of insurance
43 under this policy and of the contribution to
44 be made by this Company in case of loss, and any other pro-

45 vision or agreement not inconsistent with the provisions of this
46 policy, may be provided for in writing added hereto. but no pro-
47 vision may be waived except such as by the terms of this policy

48 is subject to change.
49 Waiver ' No permission affecting this insurance shail
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51
52
53
54

111
112
113

pre s e .

unless granted herein or expressed in writing
added hereto. No provision, stipulation or forfeiture shall be

held to be waived by any requirement or proceeding on the part
of this Company relating to appraisal or to any examination
provided for herein.

Cancellation This policy shall be cancelled at any time

of policy. at the request of the insured, in which case
this Company shall, upon demand and sur-

render of this policy, refund the excess of paid premium above

the customary short rates for the expired time. This pol-

icy may be cancelled at any time by this Company by giving

to the insured a five days’ written notice of canceliation with

or without tender of the excess of paid premium above the pro
rata premium for the expired time, which excess, if not ten-
dered, shall be refunded on demand. Notice of cancellation shall
state that said excess premium (if not tendered) will be re-
funded on demand.

Mortgagee If loss hereunder is made payable in whole
interests and or in part, to a designated mortgagee not -
obligations. named herein as the insured, such interest in

this policy may be cancelled by giving to such
mortgagee a ten days’ written notice of can-
cellation.
If the insured fails to render proof of loss such mortgagee, upon
notice, shall render proof of loss in the form herein specified
within sixty (60) days thereafter and shall be subject to the pro-
visions hereof relating to appraisal and time of payment and of
bringing suit. If this Company shall ciaim that no liability ex-
isted as to the mortgagor or owner, it shall, to the extent of pay-
ment of loss io the mortgagee, be subrogated to ail the mort-
gagee's rights of recovery, but without impairing mortgagee’s
right to sue; or it may pay off the mortgage debt and require
an assignment thereof and of the mortgage. Other provisions
relating to the interests and obligations of such mortgagee may
be added hereto by agreement in writing.
Pro rata liability. This Company shall not be liable for a grealer
proportion of any loss than the amount
hereby insured shall bear to the whole insurance covering the
property against the peril involved, whether coilectible or not.
Requirements in The insured shall give immediate writien
case loss occurs. notice to this Company of any loss, protect
the property from further damage, forthwith
separate the damaged and undamaged personal property, put
it in the best possible order, and furnish a complete inventory
of the destroyed or damaged property setting forth for each itern,
or by category if itemization is not reasonably practicable.
the amount of loss ciaimed. The company may, in addition,
require the insured to furnish a complete inventory of
the destroyed, damaged and unddmaged property, showing in
detail quantities, costs, actual cash value and amount of loss
claimed: and within sixty days after the loss, uniess such time
is extended in writing by this Company, the insured shall render
to this Company a proof of loss, signed and sworn to by the
insured, stating the knowledge and belief of the insured as (o
the following; the time and crigin of the loss, the interest of the
insured and of all others in the property, the actuai cash vaiue of
each item thereof and the amount of loss thereto, all encum-
brances thereon, all other contracts of insurance, whether valid
or not, covering any of said property, any changes in the litle,
use, occupation, location, possessicn or exposures of said prop-
erty since the issuing of this policy, by whom and for what
purpose any building herein described and the several parts
thereof were occupied at the time of loss and whether or not it
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114 then stood on leased ground., and shall furnish a copy of all the
115 descriptions and schedules in all policies and, if required, verified
116 plans and specifications of any building, fixtures or machinery
117 destroyed or damaged. The insured, as often as may be reason-
118 ably required, shall exhibit to any person des;gnated by this
119 Company all that remains of any property herein described, and
120 submit tc examinations uader oath by any person named by this
121 Company, and subscribe the same; and, as often as may be
122 reasonably required, shall produce for examination all books of
123 account, bills, invoices and other vouchers, or certified copies
124 thereof if originals be lost, at such reasonable time and place as
125 may be designated by this Company or its representative, and
126 shall permit extracts and copies thereof to be made.
127 Appraisal. "~ In case the insured and this Company shail
128 ~ fail to agree as to the actual cash value or
129 the amount of loss, then, on the written demand of either, each
130 shall select a competent and disinterested appraiser and notify
131 the other of the appraiser selected within twenty days of such
132 demand. The appraisers shall first select a competent and dis-
133 interested umpire; and failing for fifteen days to agree upon
134 such umpire, then, on request of the insured or this Company,
135 such umpire shall be selected by a judge of a court of record in
136 the state in which the property covered is located. The ap-
137 praisers shall then appraise the loss, stating separately actual
138 cash value and loss to each item; and, failing to agree, shall
139 submit their differences, only, to the umpire. An award in writ-
140 ing, so itemized, of any two when filed with this Company shall
141 determine the amount of actual cash value and loss. Each
142 appraiser shall be paid by the party selecting him and the ex-
143 penses of appraisal and umpire shall be paid by the parties
144 equally . provided. however, if the written demand is made by this
145 Company, then the insured shall be reimbursed bv this Company for
146 the reasonable cost of the insured’s appraiser and the insured's
147 portion of the cost of the umpire .

148 Company’s It shall be optional with this Company to
149 options.. take all, or any part, of the property at the
130 agreed or appraised value, and also to re-

131 pair, rebuild or replace the property destroyed or damaged with
152 other of like kind and quality within a reasonable time, on giv-
153 ing notice of its intention so to do within thirty days after the
154 receipt of the proof of loss herein required.

155 Abandonment, There can be no abandonment to this Com-
156 pany of any property.

157 When loss The amount of loss for which this Company
158 payabie. may be liable shall be payvable sixty days

158 after proof of loss, as herein provided, is

160 received by this Company and ascertainment of the loss is made
161 either by agreement between the insured and this Company ex-
162 pressed in writing or by the filing with this Company of an

163 award as herein provided.

164 Suit. No suit or action on this policy for the recov-
165 ery of any claim shall be sustainable in any
166 court of law or equity unless ali the requirements of this policy
167 shall have been complied with, and unless commenced within

168 two years next after inception of the loss.

169 Subrogation. This Company may require from the insured
170 an assignment of all right of recovery against
171 any party for loss to the extent that payment therefor is made

172 by this Company.
No change shall be made in the sequence of the words and paragraphs of the standard

provisions, conditions, stipulations and agreements prescribed herein, or in the arrangement
of the words into lines; and the numbers given the lines in the standard form and the
catch words placed at the beginning of the paragraphs shall be retained.
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Section 38.1—581(b1

(I_)) Except as provided in paragraph {(j¥ of tlus section, no such policy or contract
rclqlmg to ‘ownership, maintenance or use of 3 mefor vehicle shall ‘be so issued or
delivered unless it conlains an endorsement or provisions undertaking {o pay the insurcd
all sums which he shall be legally entitled to recover as damapes {rom the owner or
operator of an uninsured molor vehicle, within limits which shall be no less than the
requirements of § 46.1-1 (8), as amended from time to time, of the Code herein; provided,
however, that said insured., after January one, nincteen hundred sixty-seven, shall be
offrred the opportunity to contract, at an additional premium, for houts 'lugher than those
provided in § 46.1-1 (8) so long as such limils do not exceed the limus of the automobile
liability coverage provided by such policy. Such endersement or provisions shall  also
provide for no less than five ten thousand dollars coverage for injury to or destruction of
the property of the insured in any onec accident but may provide an exclusion of the first
two hungred dollars of such loss or damage where such lass or damage (s a result of any
one accident involving un unwleatifichle ovner or operator of an urzinsured peter velicte

Section 38.1-381.7

§ 38.1-381.7. Statement defining rale classifications to be provided by insurer to 1nsurad.
-Any insurer issuing policies of automobile insurance ; as defined in § 38.1-381.5, including
those assigned by the Virginia Automobile Insurance Plan shall provide the named insured
at the time of issuance or renewal with a statement defining the rate classifications of the
insured. Such a statement shall not be considered a part of the policy and sha!l not be
deemed a warranty or representation by the insurer to the insured.

The Commissioner of Insurance shall approve the form of such statement prior to its
use. C ;

Section 8.01-66

5 8.01-66. Recoverv of damapges for loss of use of vehicle—Any person who shall be
entitlted to recover for damage to or destruction of a motor vehicle shall be entitled fo
recovers in addition to any other damages to.which he may be legally entitled, the
reasonable reimbursement per diem cost of which was actually incurred in hiring a
comparable substitute vehicle for the period of time during which such person is deprived
of the use of his motor vehicle; provided, that such rental period shall not exceed a
reasonable period of time for such repairs to be made or if the original vehicle is a total
loss, a reasonabie time to purchase a new vehicle; provided further, however, that nothing
herein contained shall relieve the claimant of the duty to mitigate damages.

Section 8.01-66.1 .

§ 8.01-66.1. Action against insurer for arbitrary refusal of small claim.—A. Whenever any
insurance company licensed in this Commonwealth to write insurance as defined in §
3%.1-21 of the Code of Virginia denies, refuses or fails to pay to its insured a claim of one
three hundred fifty dollars or less in the excess of the deductible, if any, under the
provisions of a policy of motor vehicle insurance issued by such company to such insured;
and it is subsequently found by the trial judge of 2 court of proper jurisdiction that such
denial, refusal or failure to pay was not made in good faith, such company shail be liable

to such insured in an amount double the amount otherwise due and payable under the

provisions of such insured's policy of motor vehicle insurance together with reasonable
attorney’s fees and expenses. _ . , _

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph A. herein, whenever any insurance
company licensed in this Commonweaith to write insurance as defined in § 38.1-21 denies,
refuses or fails to pay to a third party claimant, on behalf of an insured to whom such
company has issued a policy of motor vehicle liability insurance, a claim of eme three
hundred £fy dollars or less made by such third party claimant; and if the triai judge of 2
court of proper jurisdiction finds that such insured is liable for such ciaim, such third
party claimant shall have a cause of action against such insurance company; and if such
judge finds that such denial, refusal or failure to pay was not made in good faith, such
company, in addition to the liability assumed by such company under the provisions of
such insured’s policy of motor vehicle liability insurance. shall be liable to such third party
claimant in an amount double the amount of the judgment awarded such third party
claimant together with reasonable attorney’'s fees and expenses. - .
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. Section 8.01-66.1 (Cont'd)

. C. Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraphs A. and B, above, whenever any person
who has paid a fee to the Division of Motor Vehicles to register an uninsured motor
vehicle pursuant to § 46.1-167.1 or any person who has furnished proof of financial
responsibility in lieu of obiaining a policy or policies of motor vehicie liability insurance
pursuant to the provisions of Title 46.1 or any person who is required and has failed either
to pay such fee or to furnish such proof pursuant to the provisions of Title 46.1 denies,
refuses or fails to pay to a claimant a claim of eme rthree hundred fifty dollars or less
made by such claimant as a result of a motor vehicle accident; and by the trial judge of a
court of proper jurisdiction finds that such denial, refusal or failure to pay was not made
in good faith, such person shall be liable to such claimant in an amount doubie the amount
otherwise due and payabie together with reasonable attorney’s fees and expenses.

For the purposes of this paragraph C. “person” shall mean and include any natural

persocn, firm, partnership, association or corporation.

Sections 27-85.3 - 27-85.6
Article 3.

Arson Reporting-lmmunity Acl.
§ 27-85.3. Short title.—This act shall be knowrn as the Arson Reporting-Immunity Act.
& 27-85.4. Definitions.—For the purposes of this article:
A. "Authorized agencles” shall mean:
l. The chief of any rmunicipal or county fire or police department or the sheriff of any

county;
2. The arson investigator of the State Police Departmertt;
3. The Commonwealth’'s Attorney or other person responsible for prosecutions in the

jurisdiction where the fire occurred.
B. “Action,” as used in" this article, shall include nonaction or the failure to take

action.
C. lnsurance company’ inciudes the Virginia Property Insurarnice Association.

§ 27-85.5. Disclosure of gnformation.—A. Any authorized agency may, in writing, require
an insurance comparny to release to the requesting agency any or all relevant information
or evidence deemed material by the requesting agency in lthe Insurance company''s
possession relating to the fire loss in question. Relevant information may include, but shall
not be limited to:

1. Pertinent insurance policy inforrmation relevant to a fire loss under Iinvestigation and
any application for such a policy;

2. Policy prermiurm pavrnent records;

30 Historv of previous claims made by the insured:

4. Material relating to the investigation of the loss. including statemments of arny person.
proof of loss. and any other evidence relevant lo the investigation.

B. !. When an insurance company has reason to believe that a fire loss in which 1t
has an interest may be of other than accidental cause, then, for the purposc of
nolification and for having such fire loss investigated. the company shall, n writing. notify
an authorized agericy and provide it with any or all -matertal developed from the

comparny's inquiry irto the fire loss.

2. When an insurance company provides any one of the authorized agencies with
notice of a fire loss, it shall be sufficient notice for the purpose of this article.

C. The authorized agency provided with Information pursuant to subsections A. or B.
of § 27-85.5 and in furtherance of its own purposes. may release or provide sSuch
information to any of the other authorized agencies.

D. Any insurance company providing information to an authorized agency or agencies

pursuant to subsections A. or B. of § 27-85.5 shall kRave the right to request relevani

information and receive, within a reasonabie time. not to exceed thirty days. the

inforrmation requested.
E. Any insurance company. or person acting in its behalf or authonzed agency who

releases information, whether oral or written, pursuant to subsections A. or B. of § 25555
shall be immune from any liability arising out of a civil action, or penalty resulting Jrom
a criminal prosecution unless actual malice on the part of the insurance company or
authorized agenicy is present.

§ 27-85.6. Evidence.-Any cuthorized agency and insurgnce company described in §§
27-85.4 or 27-85.5 who receives any information furnished pursuant to this article. shall
hold the information in confidence until such time as its release is required pursuant lo g
criminal or civil proceeding, except release in accordance with subsection C. of § 27-85.5.
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Section 46.1-400

§ - 46.1-400. Driver to make written report of certain accidents and certification of
financial responsibility, if any, to Division supplemental reports; reports by witnesses.—(a)

. The driver of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury to or death of any

person or total property damage to an apparent extent of twe three hundred fifty doilars,
or more, shall, within five days after the accident, make a written report of it to the
Division. ' ' R

(b) The Commissioner may require any driver of a vehicle invoived in any accident of
which report must be made to file a supplemental report whenever any report is
insufficient in his opinion and he may require witnesses of accidesnts (o render reports to
the Division. A willful failure to file the report required in this section shall constitute a
misdemeanor and be punishable under § 46.1-16. ST '

(b1) If any accident report filed pursuant to the provisions of this chapter is alleged to
be false or inaccurate, the Commissioner shall withhold any action under this section or
imposition of any penaity and shall investigate and determine the true circumstances of the
accident, including a determination of the correct identity of the parties involved.

(¢) The driver of a motor vehicle involved in any accident of which report must he
made shall execute in detail that portion of the accident report relating to the certification
of insurance or bond if there was in eifect at the time of the accident wiih respect to the
motor vehicle involved: '

(1) A standard provisions automobile liability policy in form approved by the State
Corporation Commission and issued by an insurance carrier authorized to do business in
this State or. if the motor vehicle was 1ot registered in this State or was a motor venicle
which was registered elsewhere than in this State at the effective date of the policy, or at
its most recent renewal. an automobile liability policy acceptable to that Commiission as
substantially the equivalent of a standard provisions automobile liability policy; provided in
cither event, that every such automobile liability policy is subject to the limits provided in
§ 46.1-304. '

{2) Any other form of liability insurance policy issued by &n insurance carrier
authorized to do business in this State or by 2 bond; provided that every such policy or
bond mentioned herein is subject to a limit, exclusive of interest and costs, of twenly -five
thousand dollars because of bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident
and. subject to that limit for one person, to a limit of ferty fifty thousand dollars because
of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident and to a limit of
five ten thousand dollars because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any
one accident.

(d) The Commissioner shall forward the certification of insurance or bond to the
insurance company or surety company. whichever is applicable, for verification as 1o
whether or not the policy or bond certified was applicabie 0 any liability that may arise
out of the accident as to the named insured: provided, however, a COpY of the certification
of insurance or bond shall be retained by the Commissioner and shall be disclosed

pursuant to § 46.1-410 of this Code.

h
)



