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RE: 1978 Acts of the General Assembly of Virginia

During its 1978 Session, the General Assembly
enacted several pieces of legislation affecting insurance
companies which will become effective July 1, 1978. The
most important of these new laws are summarized in the
attached memorandum. Notice of these laws should be di-
rected to the proper person(s) to insure that appropriate
action is taken by your company to comply with the new
requirements.
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1978 INSURANCE LEGISLATION
Commonwealth of Virginia

General

1.

Chapter 441 (House Bill 312)

This law requires insurance companies to disclose
the reasons for making an adverse underwriting decision
upon request by the person who was the subject of that
adverse decision. Also, insurance companies are
required to allow individuals to see and copy the
information concerning the individual used by the
company as the basis for an adverse underwriting
decision. Procedures must be established by insurance
companies for correcting erroneous information in their
underwriting files. 1In addition, the law prohibits
insurance companies from making adverse underwriting
decisions solely for the reason that an individual was
denied insurance by another company or for the reason
that the individual once obtained insurance through the
assigned risk plan or FAIR plan.

Chapter 4 (House Bill 479)

This law changes the expiration date for licenses
issued to insurance companies, prepaid health plans,
underwriters' agencies and burial societies from
April 30 to June 30. Because agents' licenses expire
at the same time company licenses expire, the expira-
tion date for agents' licenses is now also June 30.

The due date for agent license fees is changed from
March 15 to August 1. Fees must be paid for all agents
licensed as of July 1 of that year. The due date for
company annual license taxes and the annual assessment
for Bureau expenses is moved up from April 15 to

March 1. Companies paying premium license taxes in
excess of $5,000 are now required to pay on a quarterly
basis. Previously, companies were required to pay
quarterly if the taxes were in excess of $500. The
licensing of salesmen for subscription contracts for
prepaid health plans is amended to conform with general
insurance agent licensing provisions.

Property and Casualty

3.

Chapter 550 (House Bill 386)

This law increases the minimum financial respon-
sibility requirements from $5,000 to $10,000 for
property damage liability coverage effective January 1,
1979. The minimum property damage limit for uninsured



motorists coverage will also be increased to $10,000 at
that time.

Chapter 56 (Senate Bill 29)

This law prohibits an insurance company from
failing to issue or renew an automobile liability
insurance policy on the basis of the age of the motor
vehicle to be insured.

Chapter 314 (Senate Bill 69)

This law directs the Secretary of the Adminis-
tration and Finance to establish a self-insurance plan
for state motor vehicles. The plan must be approved by
the Governor prior to implementation.

Chapter 829 (House Bill 928)

This law expands those persons entitled to inspect
traffic accident reports to include insurers to which a
person involved in the accident has applied for issuance
or renewal of an automobile insurance policy.

Chapter 753 (House Bill 935)

The Secretary of Administration and Finance is
authorized by this law to develop and initiate a blan-
ket surety bond program for all state employees and
a group workers compensation program for all state
employees provided that the Secretary shall first
determine that such programs will be less costly.

Chapter 685 (House Bill 401)

This law provides that any bank or lender main-
taining escrow accounts to pay taxes and insurance
premiums shall be liable for any late charges assessed
and for any loss as a result of the property being
uninsured for nonpayment.

Chapter 707 (Senate Bill 514)

This law exempts a licensed physician who directs
emergency medical services through a communications
device from liability for civil damages resulting from
the emergency care unless the physician was guilty of
gross negligence or wilful misconduct.



Chapter 561 (House Bill 642)

This law exempts physicians from liability for
reporting the physical disabilities of a pilot to
aircraft licensing authorities except when such re-
porting was done with malice. Physicians are also
exempted from liability for testifying in any pro-
ceeding regarding the issuance, renewal, revocation or
suspension of a pilot's license regardless of whether
the pilot is, or has been, a patient of the physician.

Chapter 262 (House Bill 182)

This law expands the application of procedures
requiring arbitration of medical malpractice claims
to cases where notice was given prior to expiration of
any statute of limitations and the action arose prior

Chapter 766 (House Bill 664)

This law exempts insurance companies from paying
the motor vehicles sales and use tax when the company
acquired the auto for the sole purpose of disposition
after payment of a total loss claim.

Chapter 349 (Senate Bill 502)

This law requires that all accident and sickness
insurance policies providing coverage on an expense-
incurred basis and all prepaid medical service con-
tracts covering a family member of the insured or
subscriber provide inpatient coverage for mental,
emotional and nervous disorders with limits that are
not more restrictive than any other illness except that
benefits may be limited to 30 days of treatment in any
policy year. Mental, emotional and nervous disorders
are defined to include incapacitation by or dependance
upon drugs or alcohol. The law also requires that
insurance companies and prepaid health plans make
available certain additional coverages for treatment of
mental, emotional and nervous disorders on an out-

10.
11.

to July 1, 1976.
12.
Life and Health
13.

patient basis.
14.

Chapter 496 (House Bill 78)

This law prohibits insurance companies and prepaid
health plans from excluding or reducing payment of



15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

benefits under a group accident and sickness policy
because benefits have been paid or are payable under an
individual accident and sickness policy.

Chapter 632 (House Bill 120)

This law provides that a patient, who has re-
quested a mental health professional to submit a bill
to a third party payor, is deemed to have consented to
limited disclosure concerning the treatment received by
the patient. The law further prohibits disclosure
of the information received from the mental health
professional by the third-party payor without consent
of the patient except in limited circumstances. A
patient is also given the right to receive a statement
from the third-party payor as to the substance of the
information received from the mental health profes-
sional concerning the patient.

Chapter 375 (House Bill 757)

This law requires that insurance companies and
prepaid health plans make available certain optional
coverages for obstetrical services that are not less
favorable than for physical illness generally.

Chapter 16 (Senate Bill 258)

This law allows prepaid health plans to include
coverage for optometric services as well as dental
services.

Chapter 824 (House Bill 159)

This law prohibits the operation of a home health
agency without a license issued by the State Health
Commissioner. Standards for obtaining and maintaining
a license to operate a home health agency are also set
forth.

Chapter 757 (Senate Bill 259)

This law creates the Virginia Health Services Cost
Review Commission. This Commission is directed to
collect financial data from health care institutions
regarding revenues, expenses and related statistics and
to make public summaries of the data in the interest
of promoting the most efficient and effective use of
health care institution services.



Financial Condition

20.

21.

22.

23.

Chapter 696 (House Bill 851)

This law makes provision for development of a plan
by the receiver or by the Commission to distribute
assets of an insolvent domestic insurance company to
the Virginia Insurance Guaranty Association. Prior-
ities for payment of the insolvent company's obliga-
tions are established.

Chapter 20 (House Bill 530)

This law removes the requirement that a foreign
company be actively engaged in transacting business in
its home state as a prerequisite for obtaining a
license in Virginia. Also, it clarifies the powers of
the Commission with regard to companies in hazardous
financial condition and permits the Commission to pre-
vent a foreign company from writing new business in
Virginia if the company is impaired. The requirements
that must be met by an insurance company in order to
renew its license to do business in Virginia are
amended to conform to the requirements for the initial
issuance of that license.

Chapter 156 (Senate Bill 278)

This law now provides that the stock of both
property and casualty insurance companies and life
insurance companies shall be valued at not to exceed
market value as determined by the Commission.

Chapter 701 (House Bill 1024)

This law allows an insurance company to make a
loan to an officer who is not a director of the company
in connection with the relocation of the place of
employment of the officer for the purchase of property
to serve as a personal residence. The loan may not
exceed the fair market value of the residential pro-
perty. An insurance company is allowed to acquire real
property that has served as the residence of an em-
ployee other than a director or trustee in connection
with the relocation of the place of employment of the
employee; however, the real estate must be disposed of
within two years after acquisition by the insurer.

Miscellaneous

24.

Chapter 658 (Senate Bill 452)

This law prohibits the operation of a prepaid plan
for the provision of legal services without a license



issued by the State Corporation Commission. The law
also sets forth requirements for obtaining and main-

"taining a license to operate a plan, requirements for

composition of the Plan Board of Directors and other
related matters.

Resolutions

2

1.

House Joint Resolution No. 72

This resolution directs the Virginia State Office
of Minority Business Enterprise and the appropriate
unit of the State Corporation Commission to determine
whether or not the Small Business Administration is
improving its services to Virginia businesses and to
encourage agents licensed to procure surety bonds to
participate in the SBA's surety bond program. A report
is due prior to December 1, 1978.

House Joint Resolution No. 184

This resolution directs the Committees on Finance
of the House of Delegates and Senate to study ways of
providing incentives to families who care for elderly
relatives in their homes.. The Department of Taxation
and the Commissioner of Insurance are directed to
assist the Committees. A report is due December 1,
1978.

Senate Joint Resolution No. 5

This resolution appoints a commission to study
alternative methods to contain health care costs in
Virginia. Direct government regulation of health
institution charges and third-party payor premiums are
specifically designated for study along with other
matters related to the cost of health care and health
insurance. An interim report is due December 1, 1978.
A final report is due December 1, 1979.

House Joint Resolution No. 82

House Joint Resolution No. 82 appoints a sub-
committee to study the advisability and feasibility of
a state self-insurance plan for all law enforcement
officers of the Commonwealth. A subcommittee report is
due on December 1, 1978.
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House Joint Resolution No. 84

This resolution provides for a joint legislative
subcommittee to study the changes needed in state laws
and regulations to establish hospices in Virginia.
Insurance laws are mentioned as one area where study 1is
needed. A report is due for the 1979 Session of the
General Assembly.

House Joint Resolution No. 150

This resolution directs the joint legislative
subcommittee's study on the Commonwealth's insurance
coverage to continue. The focus of this year's work is
to include the method of purchasing property and
casualty insurance for state-owned property.

House Joint Resolution No. 176

This resolution directs that a joint legislative
study be conducted regarding the problems of localities
in obtaining insurance coverages. The joint subcom-
mittee will study the feasibility of the formation of
multijurisdictional or statewide pools and other alter-
natives to self-insurance. A report is due December 1,
1978.

House Joint Resolution No. 177

This resolution directs that the study of in-
surance problems of the handicapped continue with
special emphasis on adverse underwriting decisions
involving handicapped people and the problems en-
countered by handicapped people in obtaining all types
of insurance, including life and health insurance.

Senate Joint Resolution No. 41

This resolution directs that the Virginia Advisory
Legislative Council continue its study of fire in-
surance policies to determine what changes need to be
implemented to make such policies more equitable to all
concerned. A report is due on November 1, 1978.



