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TO THE PRESIDENT OF THE INSURER ADDRESSED

Dear Sir:

, The 1977 session of the Virginia General Assembly was
productive from an insurance point of view. A large number of
bills and resolutions were passed affecting many aspects of the
insurance business. Attached is a summary of those bills and
resolutions that most directly affect insurance. Unless
otherwise noted all of the new laws go into effect on July 1,
1977.

Several of the new laws summarized in the attachment require
specific actions by the Bureau of Insurance and the affected
insurance companies. On these laws, the Bureau will send a
detailed letter of instruction and a copy of the specific law.
You will begin receiving these letters in a few weeks.

Please let me know if you have any questions concerning the
new Virginia insurance laws or resolutions.

Slncerely yours,
!
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1977 INSURANCE LEGISLATION
General

1. Chapter 317 (H 1647) requires that insurance companies whose
annual assessment for the maintenance of the Bureau of Insurance is
expected to exceed $5000 must pay their assessment on a quarterly
basis. It also makes the statutory payment date for the maintenance
assessment the same as the payment date for the premium license tax.

2. Chapter 529 (H 1691) amends and adds to the Virginia Unfair
Trade Practices Act by expanding the present Act to make it virtually
identical with the NAIC Model Bill. The major changes concern (1) un-
fair claims settlement practices and (2) favored agents or insurers and
coercion of debtors. With respect to unfair claims settlement practices,
the Commission can impose penalties if the practice(s) occur with such
frequency as to constitute a business practice.

3. Chapter 248 (S 727) makes a change in the premium license tax law
as applied to mutual assessment fire insurance companies.

Financial Condition

4. Chapter 414 (H 1626) amends and adds to the Virginia Insurance
Holding Company Act. Prior approval by the Commission is required
for (1) any acquisition of a domestic insurance company and (2) large
financial transactions between a domestic insurance company and its
holding company or affiliates of the holding company. It places restric-
tions on the type of non-insurance activities that subsidiaries of insur-
ance companies can engage in. The penalties for violating provisions of
the Insurance Holding Company Act are increased substantially.

5. Chapter 321 (H 1685) amends § 38.1-174 of the Code of Virginia
and changes the requirement that the Bureau of Insurance examine
each insurance company at least every three years to at least every five
years.

6. Chapter 322 (H 1692) raises substantially the present capital and
surplus requirements for licensing new insurance companies in
Virginia. Stock insurance companies will have to have at least
$1,000,000 in ecapital and $1,000,000 in surplus. Mutual and reciprocal
insurance companies may be licensed with $800,000 in surplus if they
issue assessable policies. To issue non-assessable policies, they must
have $2,000,000 in surplus. There is a grandfather clause which makes



the increased capital and surplus requirements inapplicable to insur-
ance companies presently licensed in Virginia.

7. Chapter 58 (H 2102) provides an alternative means for reciprocal
insurers to comply with § 88.1-32 concerning the maximum exposure to
loss on a single risk. It also provides that the Commission may reduce
or eliminate the assessment provision in policies issued by reciproeal
insurers if the Commission determines that the reciprocal’s surplus is
reasonable in relation to its liabilities and adequate to its financial
needs.

Property and Casualty

8. Chapter 112 (H 699) provides that the insured has the option of
purchasing either or both of the optional automobile Medical Expense
and Loss of Income coverages. In addition, coverage applies to the
named insured, and the resident spouse and relatives, while occupying
or through being struck by a motor vehicle.

9. Chapter 255 (H 1522) provides that the State Corporation Com-
mission may establish guidelines for the filing of simplified and readable
Fire Insurance Policy forms and Automobile Insurance Policy forms.
Such readable policy forms may deviate in language, but not in sub-
stance or

10. Chapter 621 (H 1631) provides that if a court of proper jurisdie-
tion finds that an insurance company or others unreasonably (not in
_good faith) failed to pay a claim of $150 or less in excess of any
applicable deductible, the court may award double damages and
reasonable attorney fees.

11. Chapter 415 (H 1634) provides that an insurance company shall
not use information to produce rates for individual risks which the
Division of Motor Vehicles would be prohibited from furnishing such
insurer pursuant to § 46.1-31(B)(2). Such prohibition provides that acci-
dent and conviction reports furnished by the D.M.V. shall not report
any conviction or accident after forty months from the date of such
conviction or accident unless the Commissioner (of D.M.V.) or court
used said conviction or accident as a reason for the suspension or
revocation of a driver’s license or driving privilege, in which case the
revocation or suspension and any conviction or accident pertaining
thereto shall not be reported after forty months from the date that the
driver’s license or driving privilege has been reinstated.

12. Chapter 530 (H 1697) requires insurance companies writing fire



insurance only, or fire insurance in combination with other coverages
on owner-occupied dwellings and appurtenant structures which contain
a replacement cost provision under the provisions of Chapter 6.2 of
Title 38.1 to give each applicant for such insurance a statement as to
the manner in which losses under such policy will be paid when the
insured does, or does not, maintain insurance equal to at least 80% of
the replacement cost of the owner-occupied dwelling and appurtenant
structures.

13. Chapter 78 (H 1721) provides that motor vehicle liability insur-
ance policies applicable to a motor vehicle afforded a person other than
the named insured and his employees in the course of their employ-
ment, which are loaned or leased to such other person as a convenience
during the repairing or servicing by such business of a motor vehicle
for such other person, or leased to such other person for a period of six
months or more, shall not be applicable if there is other valid and
collectible insurance applicable to the same loss covering such other
person under a policy with limits at least equal to the financial responsi-
bility requirements specified in § 46.1-504.

14. Chapter 327 (H 1810) concerns the reporting of medical malprac-
tice claims data to the Commissioner of Insurance, and provides that
(1) claims closed without payment must also be reported, (2) the Com-
missioner of Insurance shall forward a copy of each report to the
appropriate licensing board for the health care provider, (3) all such
reports are not subject to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act,
and (4) civil immunity prevails for persons furnishing information in
complying with the required reporting.

15. Chapter 154 (H 1883) provides that any policy issued by the
Virginia Medical Malpractice Insurance Joint Underwriting Associa-
tion which is terminated during the term of the policy shall be entitled
to a pro-rata refund of the amount contributed to the Stabilization
Reserve Fund.

16. Chapter 55 (H 1898) provides that in the case of a contract of
insurance transacted through or under a plan approved by the Commis-
sion pursuant to the provisions of § 38.1-264 (presently the Virginia
Automobile Insurance Plan), an authentication by the insurer in a form
approved by the Commission shall be deemed as meeting the counter-
signature requirement.

17. Chapter 181 (S 691) adds age to the factors which cannot be used
by an insurer to refuse to issue a policy of automobile insurance, and



adds the proviso that nothing shall prohibit any insurer from setting
rates for such insurance in accordance with relevant actuarial data.

18. Chapter 188 (S 804) provides that any insurer issuing policies of
automobile insurance shall provide the named insured at the time of
issuance or renewal with a statement defining the rate classifications

of the insured.
Life, Accident, and Sickness

19. Chapter 325 (H 1707) clarifies the Commission’s power to with-
draw approval previously given to life insurance, annuity, and accident
and sickness policy forms which have been found to be misleading or
deceptive or to lend themselves to misrepresentation; do not comply
with the requirements of the laws of this State; or are contrary to the
public policy of this State.

20. Chapter 603 (H 1942) makes certain outpatient coverages avail-
able in addition to the present inpatient coverages for mental, emo-
tional or nervous disorders in a mental or general hospital. Qutpatient
benefits which must be offered are in accordance with general industry
practices. Alcoholism and Drug addiction are specifically included in the
definition of mental disorders. '

21. Chapter 264 (H 2110) requires the payment of interest by the
insurer on life insurance policy proceeds from the date of death to the

date of payment.

22. Chapter 606 (S 489) amends the presently mandated coverage for
mental, emotional or nervous disorders to specifically exclude coverage
for alcoholism and drug addiction, and adds a section which requires
that companies offer coverage for alcoholism and drug addiction to all
applicants for insurance. Coverages required to be offered are different
from general industry practices. The law is effective July 1, 1978.

23. Chapter 174 (S 607) provides a 10-day period from the date of
delivery of an individual life insurance policy, including industrial life
insurance, within which period the policyowner may surrender the pol-
icy to the insurer with written request for its cancellation whereupon
the insurer shall refund any premium paid therefor.

24. Chapter 607 (S 648) authorizes prepaid hospital/medical/surgical
plans to make payments directly to subscribers for expenses incurred
by them as a result of covered services rendered by a nonparticipating
hospital or physician.



Agents Licensing and Examination

25. Chapter 813 (H 1394) requires that persons seeking to solicit,
negotiate or effect contracts of insurance on behalf of reciprocal or
interinsurance exchanges must obtain licenses as do agents of other
insurers.

26. Chapter 318 (H 1650) extends the authority of surplus lines
brokers and nonresident brokers to transact title insurance, ocean
marine insurance, and insurance on the rolling stock of railroads or
other risks incidental to the ownership, maintenance or operation
thereof.

27. Chapter 51 (H 1681) establishes a uniform license fee of $30 for a
nonresident brokers license and removes the provision requiring retali-
ation against other states.

Miscellaneous

28. Chapter 426 (S 626) prohibits lending institutions, bank holding
company, or any subsidiaries, affiliates, officers, or employees thereof
from directly or indirectly being licensed to sell insurance in any
county, city, or town with a population exceeding 5,000 persons. Certain
lines of insurance and all lending institutions, affiliates, employees, ete.
licensed to sell insurance as of January 1, 1977 are exempted.

Resolutions

29. House Joint Resolution 189 expresses the concern of the General
Assembly on the high cost of health insurance for state employees and
directs that steps be taken to improve the methods used for contracting
for health insurance.

30. House Joint Resolution 239 authorizes a joint subcommittee com-
posed of members of the House and Senate Courts of Justice Commit-
tees to study products liability insurance problems in Virginia.

31. House Joint Resolution 247 sets up a joint subcommittee com-
posed of members of the House Commerce, Insurance and Banking
Committee, and the Senate Commerce and Labor Committee to study
the insurance problems of handicapped persons including why handi-
capped persons have difficulty obtaining or keeping insurance and why
they are arbitrarily placed in the assigned risk plan.

32. House Joint Restitution 251 sets up a joint subcommittee com-
posed of members of the House Commerce, Insurance and Banking



Committee and the Senate Commerce and Labor Committee to review
all insurance purchased by the State.

33. House Joint Resolution 259 asks the Commissioner of Insurance
to actively “encourage health care insurers of Virginia to offer plans
that would indemnify insured for preventative health care costs.”

34. House Joint Resolution 272 authorizes the Virginia Advisory Leg-
islative Council to study the composition of the standard fire policy with
particular focus on loss reporting and time limitations.

35. Senate Joint Resolution 88 appoints a special committee of Trans-
portation and State Police people to study the feasibility of self-insuring
State automobiles.

36. Senate Joint Resolution 121 requests the Division of Personnel to

study the feasibility of obtaining coverage for alcoholism and drug
addiction in the State employees group health insurance policy.



